Loading the CD changer - Jaguar F-Type Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-30-2013, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Loading the CD changer

So I began the process of loading the CD changer which I was doing with just the "accessory" power on. It takes about 10 minutes to load a standard audio CD, but the power in the car turns off in about 3 minutes, so effectively you need to have the engine running to load a CD. Anyone know a work-around for this?
jrybarski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-30-2013, 02:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrybarski View Post
So I began the process of loading the CD changer which I was doing with just the "accessory" power on. It takes about 10 minutes to load a standard audio CD, but the power in the car turns off in about 3 minutes, so effectively you need to have the engine running to load a CD. Anyone know a work-around for this?
I seem to recall keeping the accessory power on by doing something with car every couple of minutes, such as opening/closing the door. But my recollection is really fuzzy because I decided to load when I was driving somewhere.
BECote is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-30-2013, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
So I did a little more work and found the answer to my question and post it here just so that anyone else who needs the info has it. I had assumed that when uploading a CD, you had to do it all at once, no interruptions. As it turns out, you can leave the CD in the drive and turn the car on and off as many times as you like. The unit will upload as much as it can whenever it has power. So today, my only driving was some local errands and that allowed me to load approx 1-1/2 disks. Good enough for me.
jrybarski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-03-2013, 01:59 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrybarski View Post
So I did a little more work and found the answer to my question and post it here just so that anyone else who needs the info has it. I had assumed that when uploading a CD, you had to do it all at once, no interruptions. As it turns out, you can leave the CD in the drive and turn the car on and off as many times as you like. The unit will upload as much as it can whenever it has power. So today, my only driving was some local errands and that allowed me to load approx 1-1/2 disks. Good enough for me.
Very helpful. Thanks for the info!
BECote is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-03-2013, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrybarski View Post
So I did a little more work and found the answer to my question and post it here just so that anyone else who needs the info has it. I had assumed that when uploading a CD, you had to do it all at once, no interruptions. As it turns out, you can leave the CD in the drive and turn the car on and off as many times as you like. The unit will upload as much as it can whenever it has power. So today, my only driving was some local errands and that allowed me to load approx 1-1/2 disks. Good enough for me.
awesome, at least it doesn't limit you to just having to upload at one time, it would suck having to sit their to wait for it all to complete.



Jaguar-Speed is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-14-2014, 11:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The system is slower than others because it doesn't compress the music. Load time is roughly one quarter of the play time but you get the entire CD recorded.
Enthusiast is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-27-2021, 05:29 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrybarski View Post
So I did a little more work and found the answer to my question and post it here just so that anyone else who needs the info has it. I had assumed that when uploading a CD, you had to do it all at once, no interruptions. As it turns out, you can leave the CD in the drive and turn the car on and off as many times as you like. The unit will upload as much as it can whenever it has power. So today, my only driving was some local errands and that allowed me to load approx 1-1/2 disks. Good enough for me.
Helpful.Experienced the same closing and opening of doors affected the loading.The cd lacked power.
MonicaHans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jaguar F-Type Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome